Memory & Harmony
Memory & Harmony


Memory and Harmony:
An evening celebrating the 25th Anniversary of the Hellenic Institute,
Royal Holloway, University of London
with Bettany Hughes and Panayiotis Gogos
at the Hellenic Centre, London, 30 November 2017

Dear Friends,

As you may know, Royal Holloway is one of the oldest Colleges in the University of London (founded in 1879) and enjoys a leading place among UK Higher Education institutions, combining tradition and innovation. The Hellenic Institute of Royal Holloway (established in 1993) plays its full part in contributing as a research centre promoting the diachronic and interdisciplinary study of Greek language, literature, history and culture, from the archaic period through to the modern world.
The Hellenic Institute is celebrating its 25th Anniversary in the present academic year with a number of special events, to which everyone is warmly invited. The first event will take place at the Hellenic Centre, 16-18 Paddington Street, London W1U 5AS on Thursday 30 November 2017 at 7.00 pm. As part of the event, the historian, author and presenter Dr Bettany Hughes will share her thoughts on The study of Hellenism, to be followed by a concert, under the theme Metamorphoses, with the Greek pianist Panayiotis Gogos (please see short biographies on page 2). The lecture and concert will be followed by a Reception.
There is no charge for those who will be attending, but donations are invited for The Hellenic Institute (£15 per person is suggested, while further donations would be most welcome).
This is likely to be a popular event and for this reason it is essential that places are booked in advance by emailing: If registering by donating, however, please do so preferably by using the link below or by writing to the address below if donating by cheque.
We look forward to seeing you on this special occasion.

Charalambos Dendrinos
Director, The Hellenic Institute

Donate online at
or send a cheque payable to "RHBNC Hellenic Institute" and posted to Dr Charalambos Dendrinos, The Hellenic Institute, History Department, Royal Holloway, University of London, Egham, Surrey TW20 0EX, UK.
Donation: Gift Aid applicable/not applicable


DR BETTANY HUGHES is an award-winning historian, author and broadcaster, who has devoted the last 25 years to the vibrant communication of the past. Her speciality is ancient and medieval history and culture. A Scholar at Oxford University, she has taught at Oxford and Cambridge Universities and lectured at Cornell, Bristol, UCL, Maastricht, Utrecht and Manchester. She is a Tutor for Cambridge University’s Institute of Continuing Education and a Research Fellow of King’s College, London. Her first book, Helen of Troy: Goddess, Princess, Whore, has been translated into ten languages. Her second, The Hemlock Cup, Socrates, Athens and the Search for the Good Life, was a New York Times bestseller and was shortlisted for the Writer’s Guild Award. She has written and presented over 50 TV and radio documentaries for the BBC, Channel 4, Discovery, PBS, The History Channel, National Geographic and ITV. Her programmes have now been seen by over 250 million worldwide. In 2010, she was given a Special Award for services to Hellenic Culture and Heritage. More information on Bettany’s biography and work can be found on her website


PANAYIOTIS GOGOS has given numerous concerts throughout Europe since graduating with honours in piano and counterpoint in 1998. As a postgraduate he studied intensively in Athens with Valery Sagaidachny, the great pianist and Tchaikovsky Conservatory professor. After that he continued his piano and chamber music studies under Professor Thérèse Dussaut at the Toulouse Conservatory, graduating in 2004 with the “Prix de Perfectionnement”. Gogos then spent three years at the famous artists’ residence “Cité Internationale des Arts” in Paris. Since then he has performed widely as an “Ambassador of the Music of Chopin”, a title conferred by the Polish Ministry of Culture. More information on Panayiotis can be found on his website His programme on 30 November opens with a series of Liszt transcriptions of works by Schubert, Wohin, Barcarolle, Liebesbotschaft, Aubade, Der Doppelgänger, Erikönig, Litaney; it concludes with Chopin’s Scherzo No 2 op. 31.